top of page
Writer's pictureHudson Mackenzie

Outdoor Lounge - Very Successful Project

Updated: Jan 12

This was a small one but so fab to build. Myself and my partner were moving out and had pe-ordered a very nice couch that wouldn't arrive until after we had moved in. The place had a nice balcony so we figured we'd get an outdoor couch and we'd use that as an indoor until the other one arrives.


As we started look at first and second hand options we realised that all the small outdoor furniture that was the size we wanted tended to be cheap and nasty. So we said screw that and built our own. Pinterest as always gave us exactly the inspiration we needed and I found this design and several others similar that use 2x4s as a base design.

Found on Pintrest @MinimalistFarmStyle

So as I started to draft a cut list I set dimensions to produce as little waste as possible. For example the 2x4 lengths I was going to buy were 2400mm so I just made each couch length 1200m to save myself a lot of time and waste.


So off to Bunnings (hardware store) and bought what should have been $150AUD in timber but was only charged $90 despite my protests with the cashier that that wasn't the price. So free win. And with my tiny Honda Jazz stuffed to the brim we made our way home.


This project was a very simple one. Required lots of timber screws, lots of pocket holes and a nice, sweaty weekend. But man the results were great.


One section without back
Finished section
Both sides together

I quickly found out how much hard wood lounges like this need cushions because sitting on these for even a short time definitely became uncomfortable very quick. So one trip to Ikea later and we were in business.

With pillows and cushions

If I was to build it again I would definitely put spacing between the lengths on the seats as it doesn't provide additional comfort but just makes the entire thing heavier and much harder to move with. I'd also probably do a finish for it, definitely a nice sanding could have gone a long way as it is just framing timber so it can be rough. Although I do like the colour, some kind of protection would definitely increase its long term durability.


For a weekend and ~$200AUD we had made something that served our needs perfectly and hosted many a pissup. We have since moved and this lounge now enjoys its time at my friends place where it has been getting even more use then it did with me.




2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page