top of page
Writer's pictureHudson Mackenzie

Coffee Table Refurbish - A Free Win Project

Updated: Jan 12

My share-house has this tired, abused and ugly coffee table as one of its main pieces of furniture. So after finding an orbital sander for $10AUD on FB Marketplace I knew what my first project had to be.

Tired, abused and ugly table

This table is surprisingly sturdy considering what it clearly has been through. After some closer inspection to the table it was clear that under it it had some lovely bones and I really wanted to bring those out and have a centre piece that shines.


Step 1 was to disassemble the legs and the base from the table top. Then 60grit to remove all of the tired varnish and catch sight of the lovely timber underneath.

Table disassembled
Revealing all that lovely timber underneath

And slowly after making sure to remove all of the varnish from the visible sections we moved up through the grits all the way to hand sanding with 240 to make this table very pleasant to run your hands along. Now all this was not without covering my shop in a good layer of dust but fear not I made sure to wear a mask.



Table top after removing the varnish

Now I've not finished timber on my own before and so after a good hour at Bunnings wandering up and down the finishing isle I decided to splurge on a $40AUD tin of very well reviewed Danish oil as I wanted a matte look, protection and nice natural looking colour. Plus I figured as my first finish it would serve as pretty versatile for future projects.


So following the instructions I gave the project two coats, sanding with 240 in between, making sure it had a nice clean surface and allowing 8 hours in between coats.

Disassembled table drying

After oiling it I knew this was going to turn out great. This project was sort of a free win, a good 5ish hours of actual work and pennies in consumables for a table that looks fantastic in our space and one that I really love. It was just a huge positive feedback machine of a project. Is it perfect? Of course not but it has given me so much confidence to finish my future timber projects and make them really stand out.

It lighter than the other timber in the room but hey who cares
Thoroughly enjoying my time with my coffee table








9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page